Ciao.com Needs My Bankaccount Number!!!

confusedI have been a member of Ciao.com for a few months now, and last month decided I would request my pay out. When I went to the request page I was told I needed to enter my bank account number so the money could be transferred to my account. I thought when I joined it said they pay through paypal, and from what I have read about it,everyone else says that as well.So why do they need my bank acct.info? I am very reluctant to give anyone this info, especially a site not based in the US that I dont know much about.suspicious Are you a member of Ciao.com? suspiciouswhy are they asking for this info? Should I be concerned?Have you been paid by them>

[question posted by erikmama]

responses and comments:



i am not a member of this site but its clear that they trying to get your bank info they may be have plan to hack your account so don't just give your bank account to others especially internet site. someone claims they have been paid through paypal here's the link http://www.helium.com/items/1270342-internet-scam-wwwciaocom [Charm21]
happyYes I read that article earlier, as well as a few others who say they have been paid through paypal.suspiciousThats why I am so confused.Id love to claim my money, but it is not nenough to make me compromise my info.thumbdownI just do not get it!LOL! Thanks for the replu! [erikmama]


I'm not a member of ciao.com actually this is the first time I heard of it since I'm not from the US nor form the UK. Try to read through their TOS again as it might be in there or their FAQ. If they have a forum that may be your best bet of finding out why they are asking for it. Hope this helps you somehow. [shattered]


Oh my God!never never give your bank account number to anyone or any website, even to ciao.com, I have been a member of ciao.com but the site terminated the account of members from the Philippines, but they sent my last payment through my paypal account and they never asked my bank account number. Sites which asked for bank account number are dubious, legitimate sites never asked for bank account numbers, they usually send the payment through paypal and other money transfer companies, so if ciao.com is asking your bank account number then stay away from them, it is maybe a scam. Some ciao members said that it is no longer working well, so don't ever ever believe them. [jlamela]
I've not been back on the site then,and I am not going to give them my bank acct number, especially when everyone says that they have been paid through paypal.I am always skeptical, and with my bank acct number they can do anything they want with it.The little money I have made with them is not worth it at all. I;d never join any site that asked for that.Maybe something happened whenI requested my payment.It is very confusing to me.The site is a UK site so it would be even harder to track crap down if I were to get scammed.Even though it says it is all secrue and such im not buying it. [erikmama]


hi erikmama! I've checked out the site a month ago and saw that they don't accept member's from my country which totally sucks!LOLlol Anyway what I do know about their payment process is that, they only send money or payment for those members who have UK bank account. The exact details from their site are as follows; "Attention New members! Please note that payment of money earned on ciao.co.uk is only available through a UK bank account. Payment via Paypal is not possible." Main reason why I didn't join. Try to contact them if you can have another option. Good Luck! Happy Lotting! [danitykane]
If it says that then I need to go back on and see what has changes.I know I read it and it said that US members were welcome...Now iam really confused. [erikmama]



Okay, I have to admit I'm a bit confused. Ciao.com has become part of Bing Shopping, and is now running some sort of cashback program. Do you mean Ciao.co.uk? They're still around, but they stopped paying by PayPal quite a few months ago. Now, they only pay to UK bank accounts. [akuseru]
Well that might explain it then.I joined about 8 months ago at which time the site said US members were welcome.I am doing the thing through Bing.It stated a paypal acct was required also.Then when I ask for payment it needs all the bank acct.info which I am not willing to give out for the $10 I earned.Otherwise I feel like that is wrong to change the policy. [erikmama]


Nobody can withdraw from your bank account without your passwords or pins. Just make sure your password for this specific site is not the same as your bank. Also you can feel more at ease if they are a Verisign site. But try the Pay Pal route first. [henniesaunders]
I agree with you that no one can get money from your account unless they have your password or pins but having the account number makes it easier for hackers. In general, it is unsafe. But I just visited the site and it says they pay into your bank account. [lindiebiz]


whats bad to give your bank account on your ciao.. atleast they pay you there they dont even register us here [qamarep]
in that case you should get to bukisa.com they will pay you when your article gets 1000 views. i guess 4 dollars for each 1000 views. i also want to work with it keep me informed with your progress. but they wont pay you infront you remember that... [qamarep]


Hi erikmama! I am not a member of that site but I don't think they can cash out or withdraw money from your bank account by just giving your account number & account name ONLY. In fact, it is a common practice, to give account number when asking payment to somebody --- it is called "bank transfer". It is safe, no worries. As long as, you don't give any additional information aside from that Like pin number, password or any other vital information that the bank would think that you allowed them to withraw money, like you are sendinng them as your representative perhaps... Banks have security measures. [lovelyn_medrano]
well I honestly cannot blame you if you are really doubtful... There are really lots of scam sites now a days... Well if you are really skeptical and scared about giving your bank account then I guess, you must trust your instinct, erikmama. Why not send them support ticket and ask themabout that sudden change with their payment processor... Ask them when did they stop paying via paypal and why you were not informed regarding this changes... And othe members too, are not aware of this new policy. [lovelyn_medrano]


Hi erikmama, I thought ciao.com had closed down long back,merged with Bing.The only site that is there now is Ciao.co.uk, which is a uk based review site.You get paid through a uk bank account only.So you need to furnish the bank details to them, otherwise how will they pay you? It is one of the most trusted sites and I have been a member for nearly 2 years now receiving regular payments from them..All the besthappy [kiran8]

I have heard about this site so many months ago when it closed down all of a sudden, leaving many of its members from my country and other countries in Asia angry because their earnings also went down with the site's closure. Then I heard it started to open again but only for certain countries. So I said, if it operates that way, if it shows a lot of inconsistencies, then it must be a scam site. Never give your bank details to that site. We just don't know. Based on its past experience, there is no way for people to give it its full trust once again. [Cutie18f]
thumbdown Wow, thank u for that bit of information.I did not know it happened like that. Do you know the reason they closed? I know threre are many who say they have been paid by them,but I am like you and find them to be nor so credible.suspiciousThats messed yo that people were done like this.I am always skeptical, suspiciousand onve they asked or my bank acct nuber I was like no way! [erikmama]


I would never give my bank account information to a site espically if they claim they need it to pay me. I use a trusted third-party site or deal with a more secure method instead. I don't know why they would claim to need a bank account. Perhaps it wouldn't hurt for you to brows their faq or help files. Or, possibly something else.... I don't know. [kaylachan]

From what I have heard the Site is trustworthy I know I was going to join them but decided it against as it did state they would send the Money to the Bank account and like you I do not like doing this no matter how trustworthy the Site is So I would be very reluctant to I hope you get your Answers about the Site [gabs8513]

I guess you made a bit confusion. Ciao.com WAS a site where you was earning money writing reviews and getting rates for your reviews. They stopped to pay people one year ago, more or less, and they changed their "mission" becaming a "door" for BING, after the acquisition of the site by microsoft. Actually if you try to login in ciao.com, you're redirect to the ciao.co.uk site. And is true they ask for the bank account, but if you read well, they says they can pay only if you have an UK BASED bank account. Btw, ciao.com sent out all the pending payout via paypal when they closed their program. [pierone]